The SEMOpx Exchange Committee reviews proposed changes to the SEMOpx Rules and Operating Procedures.

Member NameMember Organisation
Michael Kelly (Chair) SEMOpx
Nigel Thomson (Vice Chair) SEMOpx
Ian Mullins Bord Gais
Paul Hutchinson AES
Daire Reilly Brookfield Renewable
Adam Hipgrave EirGrid
Shiobhan O'Neill ElectroRoute Energy Trading Ltd
Robert McCarthy Captured Carbon Ltd
Paraic Higgins ESB
Andrew Burke Lightfield Limited
Paul McGuckin Moyle Interconnector Ltd
Sinead O'Hare Power NI Energy Ltd
Patrick O'Hagan SSE Airtricity Ltd
Marie-Therese Campbell/Anne Trotter SONI/Eirgrid
John Casley Tynagh Energy Ltd
Eoin Mooney Naturgy
Sean McParland Viridian Energy Supply Ltd

Role of the Exchange Committee

The Exchange Committee promotes SEMOpx Rules and Procedures, and ensure they remain current and relevant. They consult with SEMOpx on changes to the Rules and Procedures. The committee meets at least twice each year, with the potential for additional meetings if desired by the committee or SEMOpx.


In order to faciliate market commencement there will be an Initial Exchange Committee. Please see Section E.1 of the SEMOpx Exchange Committee Operating Procedure for further information. Subsequent Exchange Committee Arrangements are contained within Section F and provide for an election process.


  • 2 year expiration
  • Retiring, removal, resignation
  • Expirations will be communicated externally with full details of Elections Process
  • 8 weeks prior to expiration SEMOpx will notify Members
  • Detailed communication provided by Exchange Committee Secretariat